Culver City Out Of State DUI Defense
Defending an Out of State DUI in Culver City, California
There are many severe punishments that are handed out to Culver City DUI offenders charged with impaired driving. In most DUI offenses, it is important to contact an experienced and reliable DUI Lawyer.
How to Deal with an out of State DUI in Culver City, California?
Getting charged with a DUI offense is a serious issue. It is inevitable for you to escape the clutches of the law and you will have to face a court ruling. When it comes to DUI offenses in Culver City, California the law is very strict. Even if you are from another state you cannot run away from the consequences that follow a DUI charge. There is absolutely no way that you will be able to evade any legal proceedings in Culver City or California.
As per the current laws that prevail in Culver City and California related to DUI cases not only the residents of Culver City or CA come under its ambit, but they are also binding upon the residents of other states. This is the major reason why you need to hire a competent DUI lawyer who can properly represent you in the court of law. As a leading DUI law firm in Culver City, we employ experienced lawyers who are well conversant with such cases.
Implications if You Get a DUI Out of State in Culver City, California
Getting charged with a DUI offense is one of the worst situations that a person can face in his or her lifetime. It can become even more depressing when you are charged with a DUI in another state. An out of state DUI in California or Culver City means that you will have to face many strict legal implications because the laws governing DUI offenses are the strictest in California and Culver City. The fines and penalties can be quite overwhelming and may cause a lot of damage to your life in the future.
Do Not Hesitate To Contact Us If You Have Received A DUI Offense in Culver City
Types Of DUI Charges:
Consequences Of A DUI:
Out of State DUI License Suspension in Culver City or California
An out of state DUI is likely to add to your legal distress rather than alleviating it If you are driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or more and have a California driver’s license, the police officer who is going to make the arrest will confiscate your license and give you a temporary one that will expire within 30 days. Unless you can successfully argue against this at the DMV hearing, your suspension period will start after the date of expiry.
In case you have a license from another state, the process is a bit different. In such a case, the police officer will let you know that your driving privileges in California will be suspended within 30 days, instead of confiscating your license. Your suspended driving privileges will most likely carry over to your home state due to an agreement known as the “Driver’s License Compact.” If you are charged with a DUI offense in Culver City or California, you will receive an out of the state DUI licence suspension in your home state once it is made aware of the legal issue you face in California or Culver City.
What to Expect if you Get a DUI Out of State in Culver City, CA
Since you will have to face legal implications in Culver City, California as well as in your home state, the overlap in jurisdictions may compound the case, making it much more complex. This is why having a professional and competent DUI lawyer by your side is the only and most reliable way out.
A common mistake that people make is to believe that just because they have been arrested for a DUI offense in another region and not their home state, they will not lose their driving privileges in their state of residence. However, the legal consequences of a drunk driving charge can remain on your record and can follow you home after your trip to the other state is over. If you fail a drunk driving test in California, you cannot escape its consequences by returning home.
Fighting a DUI in Another State in Court in Culver City
Getting a DUI in another state is a complex issue. Not only will you be facing legal implications in your home state but also at the state where you get charged for a DUI offense. The laws in Culver City as well as in California are strict and the chances are that you may have to face an out of state DUI licence suspension. In such a case, you will require the services of a Culver City DUI lawyer who will safeguard you against legal implications and will represent in the most professional way in the court of law.
Whether or not a driver loses his or her driving privileges in their home region based on a DUI in another state depends on the home state’s membership status in what is known as the “Interstate Driver’s License Compact”. It is an agreement that most states in the country have signed and it allows participating states to get in touch with each other about driving related offenses such as DUI. This means that if you are found guilty of driving under the influence in one state, that state’s DMV will inform your home state of the charges and conviction. There are however, several that can help you to strategically minimize the hardships and can save you from facing the consequences of charges resulting from a DUI in another state.
What Do I Do if I Have a DUI in Another State But I Live in Culver City?
Being charged with a DUI offense is a serious offense that can cause many problems in the future. Being charged with a DUI offense in another state is even more troublesome. If you are asking yourself questions like “What should I do now that I have a DUI in another state” then the first thing you should do is to contact a competent Culver City DUI lawyer. We will assess your case and fight to protect you against the legal complications arising from a DUI charge.
Culver City DUI Defense Attorney