La Verne 2nd DUI Defense
How to Fight a Second Offense DUI in La Verne, California
The laws concerning DUI offenses in La Verne come with severe punishments that DUI offenders in La Verne have to face if charged with impaired driving. In such cases, it is always advisable to contact an experienced and reliable DUI Lawyer.
What To Do When Charged With a Second Offense DUI in La Verne, CA
A DUI is considered a serious offense in California. The consequences of a conviction for a 2nd DUI offense can be disastrous to the life of the accused. The Criminal Code of Law has harsh punishments under the Criminal Code and in some cases DUI second offense penalties are so extreme that paying the quantum of stipulated fines can lead a person perpetually into debt.
The best option that you have when faced with a 2nd offense DUI is to get in touch with a reliable and highly experienced drinking and driving lawyer who will fight your case in trial. We are one of the most reputed DUI lawyers in La Verne and have consistently shown favorable results on behalf of our clients in DUI cases. Do not hesitate to contact us when faced with a second DUI charge.
A Second Offense DUI in La Verne, California and the Consequences
Getting a 2nd DUI is the last thing anybody would wish for. It puts you in the category of â,”repeat offenderâ, which, in any city in California, will mean more fines and penalties than in the first DUI offense. If you have committed the 2nd offense DUI within 5 years of the first offense things could get much uglier. In this case, prosecutors will go all out to establish that you have broken the law once and you will continue to endanger the lives of other motorists and people on the road in the future and you will be facing a lot from the court of law.
Both the police officers and the prosecutors will do everything in their capacity to ensure that you do not beat stiff sentencing and penalties. In such a case the best option that you have is to seek the help and support of a top notch DUI lawyer who can get you out of trouble and save you from the consequences of a second offense DUI. We at La Verne DUI Lawyer have a team of DUI lawyers who with their experience and skill will ensure every flaw in the case is found out and will make sure that the declaration of human rights have been scrupulously followed in your case.
Do Not Hesitate To Contact Us If You Have Received A DUI Offense in La Verne
Types Of DUI Charges:
Consequences Of A DUI:
An Overview of Sentencing for 2nd Offense DUI Offenders in La Verne
First of all, a second DUI can lead to extreme penalties, simply because the accused is considered to be a threat on the roads and as stated earlier it could lead to a lot of future problems in the life of the accused. Under this offense there are several consequences that you will be facing but the most severe is the permanent loss of your driverâ,”s license and a jail term and/or probation can be imposed for a period of up to 5 years. However, in some cases a hardship license may be issued to the accused as an exception. In such cases, an Ignition Interlock Device will have to be installed in the car for a minimum period of a year or even more.
The cost of installation and the maintenance of the ignition interlock device will be at the expense of the accused. It will thus be an additional financial cost added on to the other financial woes that come with being a convicted second offender.
The Different Type of Sentences in La Verne for a DUI Second Offense
A person who has been convicted in La Verne, California for an impaired driving offense for the second time automatically faces a country-wide driving prohibition, jail term, hefty fines and other penalties.
The minimum sentences for DUI second offense is as follows:
- A 2 year driving prohibition
- Up to 2 years of jail time
- In case of death or injury the penalties can go up manifold with a jail time that may extend up to 15 years.
- Four to five years of formal or informal probation.
- Court fines and fees that may go up to thousands of dollars.
- An 18 month alcohol program.
- Morgue Education.
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving Class.
- Possible SCRAM or Alcohol Rehabilitation Program.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of one year that may go up to 3 years after the day of sentence for a second offense DUI.
Getting A Second DUI in La Verne While on Probation for a Previous DUI
As per the laws concerning DUI offenses in La Verne}, the punishments are severe and even stricter with tougher consequences and a higher quantum of sentencing than prior offenses. Any driver with a second DUI while being on probation for a previous first DUI offense is not eligible for a driver’s license if you fail to contact the DMV within 10 days of your DUI arrest and this includes no liability for a restricted license. Apart from harsher driver’s license suspension, you could face an addition 6 month jail time that the court may order. The second DUI while on probation for the first one increases the seriousness of the case and the consequences that follow.
Hire Us Today to Defend a Second DUI in La Verne
Getting a top of the line DUI Lawyer is essential for you to fight a 2nd offense DUI in La Verne, California. We will endeavor to work out strategies that are necessary in order to beat the charges, including inspecting the circumstances that led to the arrest and to evaluate whether the constitutional rights of the accused have been fully adhered to.
Give us a call today for more information and a free consultation.