Pico Rivera Alcohol Breathalyzer Facts
Pico Rivera Laws That Call for the Installation of an Alcohol Breathalyzer
Many severe punishments are handed out to DUI offenders charged with impaired driving in Pico Rivera. It is always advisable to contact an experienced and reliable DUI Lawyer in order to be represented in the most appropriate manner in a court of law.
Laws That Determine Whether A Breathalyzer Installation is Necessary in Pico Rivera
Criminal laws regarding DUI offenses are very strict in Pico Rivera and they carry the most severe of punishments. These punishments can range from fines, suspension of license, probation, jail terms and the requirement of an alcohol breathalyzer that has to be installed in your car. Regardless of the quantum of the sentencing, it always has a traumatic effect on offenders and has long-term repercussions.
Therefore, before you opt for any of the DUI programs or a car breathalyzer, it is advised that you should get in touch with an experienced and reputable lawyer in this field. We at Pico Rivera DUI Lawyer have the required professional expertise to get the charges dropped at trial based mainly on the evidence collected by the prosecutor and the violation of any constitutional rights.
Before settling for a breathalyzer installation, give us a call and we will be more than willing to offer you our expert guidance.
Legal Circumstances Where a Breathalyzer Installation is Necessary in Pico Rivera, CA
As per the Criminal Law in California, impaired driving occurs when a drivers ability to operate a vehicle is impaired by the use of alcohol and drugs or any other intoxicating substance. Moreover, impaired driving can also be based on driving under the influence when BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) is above the permissible limit of 80mg of alcohol in 100ml of blood.
A Breathalyzer installation may not be necessary depending on the nature of the offense.
- For a first offense, 6 month license suspension, three year probation, and up to $1000 fine, installation of ignition interlock device in all the vehicles of the offender for 5 months.
- For a second offense, 24-month license suspension, three year probation, up to one year jail sentence and a $1000 fine, installation of a car breathalyzer for a period of 12 months.
- For a third or subsequent offense, 36-month license suspension, five year probation, one year jail sentence and fine up to $1000, installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 2 years.
Call us now to contact a DUI Lawyer in Pico Rivera, California in order to obtain more information on the laws requiring the installation of a DUI Breathalyzer.
Do Not Hesitate To Contact Us If You Have Received A DUI Offense in Pico Rivera
Types Of DUI Charges:
Consequences Of A DUI:
The Intentions Behind Pico Rivera Laws Governing a Car Breathalyzer Installation
A car breathalyzer is a type of mini-breathalyzer instrument that is about the size of a cell phone and is installed on the steering column of a vehicle. It is a device that measures the quantity of alcohol in the driver’s system, and in case the alcohol exceeds a pre-programmed level or limit, the vehicle does not start. The driver is required to take the test before switching on the ignition. This is why this device is also referred to as an ignition interlock device.
To take a test using the car breathalyzer, the driver is required to deliver a breath sample into the device. If the sample is good, the vehicle will start. If not, another test has to be taken after some time. The waiting time after the first test is a few minutes. However, if the driver fails in the subsequent tests, then that means that he will be locked out for increasingly longer periods. After the first test, a few minutes of waiting time is required which increases progressively for subsequent tests. This is set to ensure that the driver is not drinking between tests.
Pico Rivera DUI Breathalyzer Random Tests and Rules
As per the law in the state of California random tests need to be carried out while driving the vehicle. In such cases, there will be beeps from the device at periodical intervals where the driver has to give a breath sample. If the sample crosses specified alcohol limits, the engine of the car will not be turned off, but the driver will be asked to pull over through repeated honking of the horn and flashing lights. This is to ensure that the driver does not consume alcohol or any other intoxicating substance while driving the vehicle after giving the initial breath sample.
The entire breath sample data collected from a device is sent to the concerned authorities such as court/ DMV / probation officer that have ordered the breathalyzer installation to be reviewed regularly on the date of the service appointment.
The Breathalyzer Legal Limit in Pico Rivera, California
Most jurisdictions, including Pico Rivera, CA, are increasingly permitting alcohol breathalyzer installation in vehicles as an alternative to the revocation of licences. This has a two-fold effect. First, it prevents the convicted from consuming alcohol and driving again while also making the roads safer.
Second, it enables those with DUI convictions to lead a normal life and attend school, go to the office or go through other essential tasks while being sober. Hence, the idea behind breathalyzer legal limit is implemented while ensuring the safety for both the public and the offender.
If You Think You May Require a DUI Breathalyzer Contact Our Experienced Pico Rivera DUI Lawyer
The enforcement of a breathalyzer installation happens only when a conviction under DUI laws has taken place. That is why it is imperative to hire an experienced Pico Rivera DUI Lawyer immediately after a DUI charge. We have many years of experience in this field and have consistently shown positive results in getting charges dropped at trial. We will also guide and advise you in Pico Rivera, California on the different DUI programs, car breathalyzer centers, and how to get your licence suspension revoked in the shortest possible time. Give us a call to know more.